Riverside DUI Lawyer

More than 100,000 arrests for driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs (including marijuana) take place in California each year. In Riverside, DUI is one of the most common reasons for a person to be arrested. If you have been arrested on suspicion of DUI, an experienced Riverside DUI lawyer can provide information about the legal process and provide services aimed at assisting you with defending yourself against the charges.


Arrested or Charged with DUI in Riverside?

In California, if an individual is arrested at a DUI checkpoint or after an accident or traffic stop on suspicion of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, they are usually charged with violating two California state laws:

  • Operating a vehicle under the influence of alcohol and drugs, which is prohibited as a result of Vehicle Code § 23152 (a) VC
  • Operating a vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.8 grams of alcohol per deciliter of blood or higher, as prohibited by Vehicle Code § 23152 (b) VC

It is important to note that DUI convictions can result in heavy fines, loss of driving privileges, incarceration, and more. Additionally, because the penalties increase if the driver has committed more than one alcohol-related driving offense, having an attorney to assist you in defending yourself in court is crucial.


Top-Rated Riverside DUI Lawyer

California DUI Laws

In California, as with most states in the U.S., drivers over the age of 21—who are not operating on a commercial driver’s license (CDL)—can operate a vehicle after drinking as long as their BAC is below the legal impairment limit and the consumption of alcohol (or drugs) has not resulted in mental impairment that is so severe that the individual is unable to safely operate a motor vehicle. This is important to understand, as alcohol tends to affect people uniquely, meaning some individuals will be too drunk to drive long before they reach the legal impairment limit.

Possible DUI Penalties in Riverside

In Riverside, the penalties for DUI are as follows:

  • First offense: This is often charged as a misdemeanor. Upon conviction, you can face consequences that include up to six months in jail, a six-month driver’s license suspension, up to $1,000 in fines as well as court costs, mandatory 3-9 month attendance at DUI school, and installation of an ignition interlock device.
  • Second alcohol-related driving offense within 10 years: This is still generally a misdemeanor in absence of aggravating factors such as an accident resulting in injuries. Upon conviction, you face up to a year in jail, a two-year suspension of your driving privileges, up to $1,000 in fines as well as fees and other costs, 18-30 months of DUI school, and installation of an ignition interlock device.
  • Third offense within 10 years: Most third-offense DUIs remain misdemeanors unless there are aggravating factors. If convicted of a third DUI offense within 10 years, you face up to a year in jail, suspension of your driver’s license for up to three years, up to $1,000 in fines as well as fees and other costs, 30 months of DUI school, installation of an ignition interlock device, and designation as a Habitual Traffic Offender, which can result in further consequences.
  • Fourth and subsequent DUI convictions within 10 years: On your fourth DUI, you will be charged with a felony. If convicted, you face up to four years in state prison, revocation of your driving privileges for up to four years, up to $1,000 in fines as well as other fees and costs, DUI school for 30 months, participation in an alcohol treatment program, Habitual Traffic Offender designation, and installation of an ignition interlock device.


Don’t let one wrong decision impact your life, job or freedom.

Call today for a free case evaluation.

When Do I Need to Call a Riverside DUI Attorney?

It is important that you call an experienced Riverside DUI attorney as soon as possible after being arrested or charged for DUI. This allows your attorney the best opportunity to protect your rights by ensuring that the traffic stop, field sobriety tests, chemical tests, and other procedures were done according to the police department’s standard procedure and did not violate your civil rights.

An experienced attorney will also investigate the claim to ensure that the tests that were given were accurate. If you are facing a likely conviction, your attorney can help negotiate a plea deal that could allow you to plead guilty to a lesser charge or accept the charge given but with less severe consequences.


Riverside DUI Lawyer Near You

If you have been arrested or charged with a DUI, let our experienced Riverside DUI lawyer help you understand the criminal legal process and the services we can provide to assist you in protecting your finances, freedom, and future from the unpleasant consequences of a DUI. Call today for a free consultation.


Our Process


  • Arrest


    The accused is taken into custody. Police will ask basic discovery questions like name and address to identify a person, then pivot to more specific questions related to the incident.

  • Reading Your

    Reading Your

    You have the right to remain silent to avoid disclosing evidence that could potentially be self-incriminating, as well as the right to an attorney to defend you in court.

  • Booking


    The police will take you in for booking — Police will fingerprint you and get and updated photograph for their records. After, you’ll be given a chance to contact your criminal defense lawyer.

  • Arraignment


    The arraignment is the final date for you to decide how you’re going to plea. If you plead guilty, the case is set for a sentencing date. If you plead not guilty, your attorney will prepare for trial.

  • Discovery


    In the discovery stage, you’ll get to see exactly what evidence the prosecution has against you. This is when your attorney can make additional requests for evidence if need be and strengthen your defense.

  • Plea Bargaining

    Plea Bargaining

    Accepting the plea bargain is the last chance to plead guilty before the trial. Reduced charges may be presented to quickly settle the case and avoid trial.

  • Trial


    The prosecutor presents the case to the jury. Any evidence or witness statements are shared at at this time. Afterward, it’s your lawyers turn to take the stands and share your side of the story. The jury will make a final verdict.

  • Sentencing


    At sentencing, the Judge must decide the appropriate legal penalty for the crime you were found guilty of. Decisions are based on the advised penalties for the specific charges in question.

Possible Penalties For A Criminal Conviction

Jail or Prison Time

Substantial Fines

Lengthy Probation

License Suspension

Mandatory Education

Frequently Asked Questions

Is it worth getting a DUI lawyer in California?

Yes. A lawyer is able to find administrative or procedural errors involved in the traffic stop or arrest that can result in a dismissal of the case. If a dismissal is not possible, your DUI defense attorney can provide guidance regarding plea negotiations or can gather evidence to show that you have been wrongfully accused.

Does a DUI ruin your life?

If you are not able to mitigate the charges against you, a DUI can leave you with a criminal record and result in a loss of your freedoms through revocation of your driving privileges and incarceration. Additionally, both felony and misdemeanor DUI offenses appear on your driving record, resulting in increased consequences for further infractions as well as difficulty obtaining employment that involves driving. Furthermore, you can expect to pay more for your car insurance for several years after a DUI conviction.

Depending on your legal status, it may make you deportable or excludable, and it may affect any future attempts of naturalization pursuant to the laws of the United States.

How serious is a DUI in California?

Being convicted of a DUI in California is extremely serious. The conviction will remain on your driving record for 10 years and can also appear on criminal background checks performed by colleges, employers, and even landlords. If you are a commercial driver, you can lose your CDL. If you are convicted of felony DUI, you can also lose your ability to own or purchase firearms.


Criminal Defense for All

We Serve All Riverside County

The district attorney is building their case against you right now. The Prosecutor will not take your charges lightly — Will you?

Southwest Courthouse

  • Murrieta
  • Temecula

Riverside Courthouse

  • Moreno Valley
  • Riverside

Banning Courthouse

  • Beaumont
  • San Jacinto

Indio Courthouse

  • Indio
  • Palm Desert

Santa Anna Courthouse

  • Santa Ana
  • Orange

Fullerton Courthouse

  • Anaheim
  • Fullerton

Irvine Courthouse

  • Irvine
  • Costa Mesa

Westminster Courthouse

  • Huntington Beach
  • Garden Grove